Egmont Group

In June 1995, representatives of a number of government agencies and international organizations gathered at the Egmont-Arenberg Palace in Brussels to discuss issues of money laundering and ways to tackle this global challenge. This first meeting resulted in the formation of the Egmont Group - an unofficial organization of government agencies that receive disclosures united by a common goal of forming a collective mechanism to strengthen mutual cooperation and information exchange that would contribute to the detection and deterrence of money laundering and subsequently – terrorist financing.

Soon after the Group’s creation, its members recognized the need to work out effective and practical methods of cooperation, especially in the field of exchanging information and sharing AML experience. To this end, the Legal Working Group formed within the Egmont Group analyzed the obstacles complicating information exchange among government agencies directly involved in AML efforts by processing financial data. To identify agencies that receive disclosures and better understand the way these agencies function, various jurisdictions completed questionnaires and submitted them to the Legal Working Group for analysis. Based on the responses, the Legal Working Group came up with a functional definition of government agencies that fight money laundering, which came to be known as Financial Intelligence Units (FIUs).

Although the Egmont Group FIUs originally focused on anti-money laundering for the most part, the FIUs also play a key role in the global effort against terrorist financing. Information disclosures received, analyzed and passed on by the FIUs provide a priceless source of information for the national agencies involved in combating terrorist financing. To comply with mandatory international standards, many countries have already amended or are in the process of amending their national laws in order to include terrorist financing as a separate crime in the focus of FIU activities, thereby expanding the range of FIU functions.

The main documents of the Egmont Group underlying its activities are the Statement of Purpose (originally adopted in Madrid on June 24th 1997, with amendments made in Hague on June 13th 2001, in Sydney on July 23rd 2003, and on Guernsey on June 23rd 2004) and the Principles of Information Exchange Among Financial Intelligence Units, which are an addition to the Statement of Purpose of the Egmont Group.

FIU as defined by the Egmont Group

Based on the results produced by the Legal Working Group, in 1996 the Egmont Group approved the following definition of an FIU, which was later amended in 2004 to reflect the FIU role in combating terrorist financing:

“A central, national agency responsible for receiving, (and as permitted, requesting), analysing and disseminating to the competent authorities, disclosures of financial information:

(i) concerning suspected proceeds of crime and potential financing of terrorism, or

(ii) required by national legislation or regulation,

in order to combat money laundering and terrorism financing.”

Egmont Group structure 

  • Assembly of FIU heads 
  • Plenary 
  • Egmont Group Committee 
  • Legal Working Group 
  • Outreach Working Group 
  • Information Technology Working Group 
  • Training Working Group 
  • Operational Working Group 
  • Permanent administrative support (Secretariat)

Egmont Group members

As of September 10, 2010, Egmont Group membership included financial intelligence units of 116 countries and jurisdictions.

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Aruba
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Cook Islands
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Estonia
  • Fiji Islands
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guernsey
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Isle of Man
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Jersey
  • Korea (Republic of)
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macao
  • Macedonia
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Moldova (Republic of)
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Netherlands
  • Netherlands Antilles
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Niue
  • Norway
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • St. Kitts & Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent & the Grenadines
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Syria
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • Turks & Caicos
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela

Egmont Group observers

  • World Bank
  • International Monetary Fund
  • Regional FATF-style bodies
  • UN Office on Drugs and Crime

    Upcoming events

    EAG in the news

    Participation in the MONEYVAL Plenary The interagency government delegation – led by Rosfinmonitoring and comprised of representatives of the Russian Foreign Ministry, Finance Ministry, Federal Security Service and the Bank or Russia – took part in the meeting of the Committee of Experts on the Evaluation of Anti-Money Laundering Measures and Financing of Terrorism (MONEYVAL), held in Strasbourg on September 26-28
    III International seminar "Effective supervision as a mechanism for ensuring transparency and stability of the financial system" was conducted in Moscow On September 20-21, III International seminar "Effective supervision as a mechanism for ensuring transparency and stability of the financial system" was conducted in Moscow
    Following the seminar on "Best Practices and International Standards on Preventing the Abuse of NPOs for the Purpose of Terrorist Financing" On September 20, 2017, in Astana, the Financial Monitoring Committee of the Ministry of Finance of the Republic of Kazakhstan, in conjunction with the OSCE Programme Office in Astana, conducted a training seminar on "Best Practices and International Standards on Preventing the Abuse of Non-profit Organizations (NPOs) for the Purpose of Terrorist Financing"
    All publications